My Experience as a Multiple Trauma Patient at the New Sherman Hospital

November 16, 2009

This is Part II in the story describing my experience as a mock patient at Sherman’s Day in the Life exercise on November 12th, which helped the Sherman’s staff grow acclimated to the new building. The events that led to my trauma and the trauma itself are both entirely fictional. Click here for Part I of the story.

To find the cause of my blood loss, I was gently turned to my side. A wound was noted on my sacrum (the large, triangular bone at the base of the spine), which the doctors said could possibly be a gunshot wound. It was at this time that my pockets were searched as a matter of security. Nurses quickly discovered a large amount of cash and a baggie carrying a suspicious white powder. Police were called in and were given the evidence.

With the legal matters taken care of, the staff got to work making sure I pulled through the multiple traumas. The OR was notified of a potential patient, and I was whisked away for a CT scan. The results revealed that I would indeed need surgery, so the report was called to OR, an object was noted in my abdomen and the blood bank was contacted for additional required blood.

I then arrived to the OR for emergency exploratory abdominal surgery. The procedure went off without a hitch, and I was given a post-operative bed.

That concluded my time as a multiple trauma patient for Sherman’s Day in the Life exercise. One thing I noticed was the layout of the various wards. Trauma, CT and the OR are mere steps away from each other, which can be crucial in emergency situations. The new patient rooms are spacious and allow plenty of light to seep in, and the patient beds are extremely comfortable, allowing for much-needed rest after a particularly traumatizing day.

The opening of the new Sherman Hospital is less than a month away! Check out the newly redesigned Future of Sherman web page for details about the big day! And to see all the photos from the Day in the Life event, make sure you check out our Flickr page.

2 Responses to “My Experience as a Multiple Trauma Patient at the New Sherman Hospital”

  1. […] Click here for Part II of this story, where you’ll find how my traumatic day ended and why the police had to become involved. Share and Enjoy: […]

  2. […] Patient Move Preview] [Mock Patient Move Part I Part II] [New Hospital […]

Leave a Reply

